-
If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.
-
You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!
| |
Career Guidance
Page history
last edited
by halld@... 14 years, 12 months ago
Library Guide
Career Guidance
This guide will introduce you to some of the resources available for researching careers, colleges and academic majors. The books listed here are just some of the resources available in the Library’s Career and College sections. Any of the librarians will be happy to help you find other resources. The Advisement and Transfer Center also has a collection of materials for you to use.
Personal Assessment
This is to help you determine your goals and dreams. By assessing your personality you can get an idea of what career path is right for you.
|
Bolles, Richard N. What Color is Your Parachute.
Berkeley: Ten Speed, 2007.
A classic guide for job searching and career assessment. Helps you discover what you really want in a career and how to get it.
|
CAREER HF 5382.7 .B64 2007 |
|
Lore, Nicholas. The Pathfinder: How to Choose or Change your Career for a Lifetime of Satisfaction and Success.
New York: Simon & Schuster, 1998.
Guide on how to choose and research careers based on your personality type.
|
HF 5384. L67 1998 |
Careers
These are just a few of the resources available that include occupational profiles and the methods needed to prepare for a specific career. To find other books, browse the Career section of the Library or search the Online Catalog for “vocational guidance” or “job hunting”.
|
The Black Collegian
Cutting-edge information on career resources and graduate school opportunities.
|
http://www.blackcollegian.com |
|
Career Resource Library
A career portal that provides annotated links to other sites and articles. Topics include career exploration, job search, education and training, business and employment.
|
http://careerresourcelib.notlong.com |
|
Careers in Focus series
Chicago: Ferguson
Each book in the series covers a different field in-depth such as design, social work, biology, etc.
|
CAREER area |
|
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 14th Edition.
New York: Ferguson, 2008.
Discusses requirements, salary, advancement and more for all careers.
|
CAREER HF 5381.E52 2008 |
|
Jobs in Pods
A collection of podcasts with potential employers. Learn about specific jobs, company culture, ideal candidate profiles, and more. Search by company, job type, or location.
|
http://jobsinpods.com |
|
JobStar Central
Includes information on the hidden job market, career guides and tests, salary info, and resume help. Targeted resources for major metropolitan areas of California.
|
http://jobstar.org/ |
|
Quintessential Careers
Includes articles and tips about job searching. Career tool kit includes tutorials, quizzes, resume and cover letter resources, and interviewing tips.
|
http://www.quintcareers.com |
Colleges and Majors
In addition to the resources listed here, the Advisement and Transfer Center can assist you in the development of your educational plans. To find other books, browse the College section of the Library or search the Online Catalog for “Universities and Colleges – United States -- Directories”.
|
Andrews, Linda Landis. How to Choose a College Major.
New York: McGraw-Hill, 2006.
Guide to finding a major that matches your skills, talents, and interests.
|
COLLEGE LB 2361.5 .A45 2006 |
|
Black Excel: The College Help Network
Provides information on college admissions, financial aid, college transition, careers, internships and summer enrichment programs.
|
http://www.blackexcel.org |
|
College and University Rankings
This website provides links to online sources focusing on the ranking of colleges and universities.
|
http://collegerankings.notlong.com |
|
CollegeNET
Allows you to create a customized search for colleges, financial aid and scholarships by region, major and other criteria. Contains over 1,500 online college applications.
|
http://www.collegenet.com |
|
The Hispanic Scholarship Fund
Offers comprehensive information on colleges, scholarships, tips for college success, college majors and career options.
|
http://www.hsf.net/ |
|
Fogg, Neeta P., Paul E. Harringtion and Thomas F. Harrington. College Majors Handbook.
Indianapolis: JIST, 2004.
Information about the jobs and earnings of graduates of 60 college majors.
|
CAREER HF 5382.5 .U5 F644 2004 |
|
Peterson’s Four-Year Colleges 2008.
Lawrenceville, NJ: Peterson’s, 2007.
Facts and figures on more than 2,500 colleges in the U.S. and Canada.
|
COLLEGE L 901 .P447 2007 |
Career Guidance
|
|
Tip: To turn text into a link, highlight the text, then click on a page or file from the list above.
|
|
|
|
|
Comments (0)
You don't have permission to comment on this page.