| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Stop wasting time looking for files and revisions. Connect your Gmail, DriveDropbox, and Slack accounts and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio will automatically organize all your file attachments. Learn more and claim your free account.

View
 

16th Century England

Page history last edited by halld@... 9 years ago

Library Guide

 

16th Century England


This guide will introduce you to some of the different types of resources that can be used to conduct research about Elizabethan England.

 

Tips for Better Searching

  • Use synonyms and related words for the time period, such as 16th Century, 1500s, Elizabethan, or Tudor
  • Use a time period word/phrase followed by key concepts for your topic (e.g. jousting or cuisine)
  • Having trouble? Don't give up on your topic -- ask a librarian who will show you ways to find more results

 

Find Books

 

Marymount Library Catalog

Search for books in the Marymount collection (over 22,000 titles)

 

http://onlinecatalog.marymountpv.edu/webopac/main?siteid=mmc

WorldCat

Search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. If the Marymount Library does not have the book, contact us and we'll get it for you (at no cost).

Watch a how-to video on using WorldCat to find materials

 

http://www.worldcat.org

 

 

Find Magazines & Journal Articles

 

Through the Library

The Library pays for access to specialized databases where you can find magazine and journal articles online. These materials cannot usually be found using Google (unless you'd like to pay $30+ per article!).

 

Some articles are available full-text. Other times you might only find a summary of the article with information about where and when it was published. In this case, we may have access through another database or a print copy of the article. If not, we can usually get a copy from another library.

 

The databases are available from the Library’s web page at http://www.marymountpv.edu/find-articles. 

 

Academic Search Premier

Full-text articles from nearly 4,700 journals and magazines in all subject areas.

 

http://ezproxy.marymountpv.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph

ProQuest Direct

Full-text articles from over 5,000 magazines and journals.

 

http://ezproxy.marymountpv.edu/login?url=http://umi.com/pqdauto

 

Through Google Scholar

 

Google Scholar also provides access to many scholarly materials. However, you will not usually get access to the full article, but rather simply the abstract. If you find an article in Google Scholar, but don't get access to the full article, speak with the librarians who will request a copy of it from another library.

 

Google Scholar

Full-text articles from nearly 4,700 journals and magazines in all subject areas.

Google Scholar shows you materials that you wouldn't see in a normal Google search.

 

http://scholar.google.com

 

 

Websites

 

When you are doing research using Google or another search engine, you really need to critical evaluate the web sites for credibility, quality, and currency. 

Tip!  Information from sites that end in .gov and .edu tend to be more credible sources. But you still must apply the criteria of credibility, quality, and currency.

 

 

Citing Sources

 

Marymount Library Citation Guides: Available for MLA and APA citation styles

For help citing sources, contact the library or visit a librarian in-person.

 

 

Practice Citation Questions!

 

 

Basic Steps Once You Have Found a Source:

 

1.       Go to Marymount Library’s MLA guides: http://www.marymountpv.edu/academics/library/research/citing-sources

2.       Identify the information type – the type determines which MLA rules apply.

·         Example types: book, encyclopedia, magazine, newspaper article, journal article, web site, book review, pamphlet, telephone interview, brochure, press release, government publication

3.       Next, determine if it’s online or print – the format also determine which MLA rule to apply

4.       Use the type and the format to identify the relevant MLA rule

5.       Don’t add extra information, but do follow the rules exactly (including punctuation & capitalization)

 

 

Practice Exercises:

 

1.       (1) Go to the Marymount Library Catalog: http://www.marymountpv.edu/academics/library/research/find-books-more

 

Search for this title “The Age of American Unreason”;  then create a citation for this source

Search for this title “Celebrity Culture in the United States”;  then create a citation for this source

 

 

2.       (2) Go to http://tiny.cc/VN2lR and create a citation for “Anti-Intellectualism in US Schools”

 

 

3.       (3) Go to http://tiny.cc/jFAUY and create a citation for “Obama and the War on Brains”

 

 

(4) Go to http://tiny.cc/SkWOu and create a citation for “Critical Thinking Skills: The Cure for Anti-Intellectualism”

 

 

 

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.