| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Stop wasting time looking for files and revisions. Connect your Gmail, DriveDropbox, and Slack accounts and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio will automatically organize all your file attachments. Learn more and claim your free account.

View
 

Climate Change

Page history last edited by halld@... 10 years, 3 months ago

Library Guide

 

Climate Change


This guide will introduce you to some of the different types of resources that can be used to conduct research about climate change.

 

Searching Tips

  • Climate change touches on many different subjects, so books about it are in several sections of the library, including Meteorology & Climatology (QC), Nature Conservation (QH), and Air Pollution (TD).
  • When searching the library’s catalog or any of the databases listed below, try a variety of keywords, such as climatic changes, global warming, weather, meteorology, earth science, and climatology.

 

Finding background information

 

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works are a good place to begin if you need an overview of your topic or want to look up quick facts or definitions.

 

AccessScience

An online version of the McGrawHill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.

 

http://www.accessscience.com

Allaby, Michael. Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate.

    New York: Facts on File, 2002.

This 2-volume set includes nearly 3,000 entries on all aspects of weather and climate.

 

REF QC 854 .A45

Clark, John O. E. and Stella Stiegeler, eds. The Facts on File Dictionary of Earth Science.

    New York : Facts on File, 2000. 

Clear and concise explanations of some 3,400 terms.

 

REF QH 302.5 .F38 2000

Encyclopaedia Britannica

Online version 

This classic general encyclopedia also includes entries concerned with climate change.

 

REF AE 5 .E363 2007

http://search.eb.com

Kellert, Stephen R., ed. Macmillan Encyclopedia of the Environment.

    New York : Macmillan Library Reference, 1997.

Provides simple explanations of environmental concepts and terms.  See volume 6 for subject index.

 

REF GE 10 .M33 1997

United Nations Environment Programme. One Planet, Many People : Atlas of  Our Changing Environment.

    Nairobi: UNEP, 2005.

Illustrates different ways in which humans have an impact on the environment.

REF GE 149 .O53 2005

 

Finding Magazine & Journal Articles  (Databases)

 

The Library pays for access to several databases where you can find magazine and journal articles online. Some articles are available full-text. Other times you might only find a summary of the article with information about where and when it was published. In this case, we may have access through another database or a print copy of the article. If not, we can usually get a copy from another library. The databases are available from the Library’s web page at http://www.marymountpv.edu/find-articles.   For off campus access, you will need to enter your Marymount ID and password when prompted.

 

Academic Search Premier

Full-text articles from nearly 4,700 journals and magazines in all subject areas.

 

http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph

CQ Researcher

Provides balanced research on public policy issues.

 

http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/

Opposing Viewpoints

Get contrasting points of view from leading opinion makers about current topics and social issues.

 

http://find.galegroup.com/ovrc/start.do?prodId=OVRC&userGroupName=marymount1

ProQuest Direct

Full-text articles from over 5,000 magazines and journals.

 

http://umi.com/pqdauto

 

Websites

 

When you are doing independent research on the Internet it is especially important to evaluate the source. The sites listed here are authoritative. For more information on how to do research online, see the Library Guides “Internet Search Engines” and “Evaluating Information on the Internet.”

 

Climate 1-Stop

Provides a single location to share and access climate change tools, resources and information, with a primary focus on adaptation in developing countries.

 

http://arcserver4.iagt.org/climate1stop/

The Encyclopedia of the Atmospheric Environment

This is a one-stop source of information on a range of atmospheric issues, including climate change, air quality, acid rain, global warming and ozone depletion.

 

http://eae.notlong.com

Pew Center on Global Climate Change

Features a collection of reports on the effects of climate change on the Earth.

 

http://www.pewclimate.org

UNEP/GRID Arendal

This website includes an extensive library of maps and graphics about climate change.

 

http://www.grida.no

What’s Up with the Weather?

Companion website to the PBS broadcast. Explores the question of whether the changes in the weather are the result of human activity. Includes a teacher's guide and a FAQ.  The library has a copy of the video for faculty borrowing (AV Science 059).

 

http://pbsweather.notlong.com

World Bank Group: Climate Change

Information about World Bank projects addressing the intersection of climate change and development.

http://wbclimate.notlong.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.