| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Get control of your email attachments. Connect all your Gmail accounts and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio will automatically organize your file attachments. You can also connect Dokkio to Drive, Dropbox, and Slack. Sign up for free.

View
 

Dreams

Page history last edited by halld@... 9 years, 8 months ago

Library Guide

 

Dreams


This guide will introduce you to some of the different types of resources that can be used to conduct research about dream topics.

 

Searching Tips

  •  A good area to browse for books on the shelves is in the BF 1078 – BF 1099 range.
  • When searching the library’s catalog or any of the databases listed below, try a variety of keywords, such as dreams, dream interpretation, and sleep.

 

Finding background information

 

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works are a good place to begin if you need an overview of your topic or want to look up quick facts or definitions.

 

Ackroyd, Eric. A Dictionary of Dream Symbols.
    London: Blandford, 1993.

Featuring over 700 entries, this dictionary gives you a range of possible interpretations for various dream symbols.

REF BF 175.5 .D74 A25 1993
Barnard, Alan, and Jonathan Spencer, eds. Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology.
    New York: Routledge, 1996.

This volume provides a discussion on the anthropology of dreams. A bibliography for further research is included.

 

REF GN 307 .E525
Carskadon, Mary A., ed. Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreaming.
    New York: MacMillan, 1995.

A collection of essays that examine sleep and dreaming from several scientific perspectives.

 

REF BF 1078 .E63
Kazdin, Alan E., ed. Encyclopedia of Psychology.
    New York: Oxford Press, 2000.

This eight-volume set provides in-depth discussion on a variety of topics pertaining to psychology and other social sciences. Each entry contains a bibliography for further research.

 

REF BF 31 .E52 2000

 

Finding Magazine & Journal Articles  (Databases)

 

The Library pays for access to several databases where you can find magazine and journal articles online. Some articles are available full-text. Other times you might only find a summary of the article with information about where and when it was published. In this case, we may have access through another database or a print copy of the article. If not, we can usually get a copy from another library. The databases are available from the Library’s web page at http://www.marymountpv.edu/find-articles. 

 

Academic Search Premier

Full-text articles from nearly 4,700 journals and magazines in all subject areas.

http://www.marymountpv.edu/find-articles

ProQuest Direct

Full-text articles from over 5,000 magazines and journals.

http://www.marymountpv.edu/find-articles

 

Websites

 

When you are doing independent research on the Internet it is especially important to evaluate the source. The sites listed here are authoritative. For more information on how to do research online, see the Library Guides “Internet Search Engines” and “Evaluating Information on the Internet.”

 

Association for the Study of Dreams

The website for an organization that is dedicated to the pure and applied investigation of dreams and dreaming.

http://www.asdreams.org

The Dreams Foundation

Features dream interpretation, nightmares, lucid dreaming, sleep, and dream science including online experiments and questionnaires.

http://www.dreams.ca

Quantitative Study of Dreams

Sponsored by the University of California, Santa Cruz, this website is devoted to the scientific study of dreams.

http://psych.ucsc.edu/dreams

MedlinePlus

A joint service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. Results focus on health and medical science aspects (e.g., role of dreams in Post Traumatic Stress Disorder).

http://www.medlineplus.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.