Library Guide
Marine Biology Research
This guide will introduce you to some of the different types of resources that can be used to conduct research in marine biology.
Find Books
|
Marymount Library Catalog
Books are thorough and detailed, and they are a good starting place to learn about your topic.
Watch a how-to video to learn the basics of searching our *new* (as of Fall 2012) library catalog.
|
Find Articles on Issues Specific to Marine Biology
The Library provides access to specialized search engines where you can find online magazine and journal articles on topics of interest to scholars.
Some articles are fully available. Other times you might only find a summary of the article with information about where and when it was published.
In this case, we may have access through another database or a print copy of the article. Ask your librarian for assistance.
From the Library's home page: http://www.marymountpv.edu/academics/library go to "eResources". Try one or more of these on the front page:
|
Academic Search Premier
Search for articles from nearly 4,700 journals and magazines in all subject areas (including marine biology).
Be sure to click the "full text" check box on the search home page.
|
|
ProQuest Research Library
Search for articles from over 5,000 magazines and journals in all subject areas (including marine biology).
Be sure to click the "full text" box on the search home page.
|
|
National Newspaper Core
Search by an organism's common name (using quotes, e.g. "california sea lion") or for an issue in marine biology.
Be sure to click the "full text" box on the search home page.
|
Recommended Websites
When you are doing research using Google or another search engine, you really need to critically evaluate the web sites for credibility, quality, and currency.
Tip! Information from sites that end in .gov and .edu tend to be more credible sources -- but you still must apply the above criteria.
|
Aquatic Commons
Sponsored by the International Association of Aquatic and Marine Science Libraries and Information Centers.
Collects digital publications from organizations on topics related to marine, brackish, and freshwater environments.
|
|
Encyclopedia of Life
Created by the scientific community for the public. Search by the organism's scientific or common name.
Information provided: general description, ecology and distribution, trends and threats, and conservation status.
|
|
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
Search for those species most in need of conservation attention if global extinction rates are to be reduced. Search by organism's scientific or common name.
|
|
Monterey Bay Aquarium: Animal Guide
Provides basic facts about an organism.
|
|
Office of Protected Resources
Created by the National Marine Fisheries Service under the U.S. Department of Commerce.
This Office works to conserve and recover species under the Endangered Species Act and the Marine Mammal Protection Act.
Find information about different species, laws and policies, and find publications written on topics relating to marine biology.
|
|
ScienceGov
Search thousands of authoritative science websites published by the US government.
Includes content from the Environmental Protection Agency and the National Science Foundation.
|
|
University of Michigan: Animal Diversity Web
A large searchable encyclopedia of the nature history of thousand of animals.
Created by scientists in the Museum of Zoology at the University of Michigan.
|
Citing Sources
Marymount Library Citation Guides: Available for MLA and APA citation styles. For help citing sources, contact the library or visit a librarian in-person.
Comments (0)
You don't have permission to comment on this page.