| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Stop wasting time looking for files and revisions. Connect your Gmail, DriveDropbox, and Slack accounts and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio will automatically organize all your file attachments. Learn more and claim your free account.

View
 

Science Research

Page history last edited by The Beach Cybrarian 11 years ago

Library Guide

 

Science Research


This guide will introduce you to some of the different types of resources that can be used to conduct research on a range of science topics.

 

 

Find Books

 

Marymount Library Catalog

Books are thorough and detailed, plus often include historical information. They are a good starting place to learn about your topic.

The Marymount Library has over 22,000 titles in its collection for you to choose from.

Watch a how-to video to learn the basics of searching the library catalog.

 

WorldCat

You can search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.

 If the Marymount Library does not have the book, contact your librarians and we'll get it for you (at no cost).

Watch a how-to video on using WorldCat to find materials in other libraries.

 

 

Find Magazines & Journal Articles

 

Through the Library

The Library provides access to specialized databases where you can find online magazine and journal articles on topics of interest to scholars.

Some articles are fully available. Other times you might only find a summary of the article with information about where and when it was published.

In this case, we may have access through another database or a print copy of the article. Ask your librarian for assistance.

 

Go to the Library's home page: http://www.marymountpv.edu/academics/library. Look under "Research" and select "Find Articles." Try one or more of these:

 

Academic Search Premier

Search for articles from nearly 4,700 journals and magazines in all subject areas (including science disciplines).

Be sure to click the "full text" check box on the search home page.

To only search for scholarly journal articles, select that check box as well.

 

Access Science

Search for scholarly encycelopedia entries. It also includes biographies of scientists and current science and technology research news.

 

Health Source

Search for articles, pamphlets, and books on health and medical topics, including nutrition, exercise, drugs and alcohol, and nursing.

Be sure to click the "full text" check box on the search home page.

To only search for scholarly journal articles, select that check box as well.

 

ProQuest Research Library

Search for articles from over 5,000 magazines and journals in all subject areas (including science).

Be sure to click the "full text" box on the search home page.

To only search for scholarly journal articles, select that check box as well.

 

PubMed
Citations for life sciences (i.e. biology) journal articles from the US National Library of Medicine. Use the Advanced Search and select "links to free full text" to find full articles.

 

 

 

Recommended Websites

 

When you are doing research using Google or another search engine, you really need to critically evaluate the web sites for credibility, quality, and currency. 

Tip!  Information from sites that end in .gov and .edu tend to be more credible sources. But you still must apply the above criteria.

 

ScienceGov

Search for science information published by the US government on over 1900 websites.

 

Medline

Health information published by the National Library of Medicine on a wide range of topics.

 

Public Library of Science

Search free, peer-reviewed articles in seven open-access science journals. A great resource!

 

 

Citing Sources

 

Marymount Library Citation Guides: Available for MLA and APA citation styles. For help citing sources, contact the library or visit a librarian in-person.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.