| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Stop wasting time looking for files and revisions. Connect your Gmail, DriveDropbox, and Slack accounts and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio will automatically organize all your file attachments. Learn more and claim your free account.

View
 

The Bible

Page history last edited by halld@... 9 years, 3 months ago

Library Guide

 

The Bible


This guide will introduce you to some resources for conducting research about the Bible. In addition to numerous English versions of the Bible, the Library carries Biblical atlases, dictionaries, concordances, and commentaries. Online articles and websites are also available for research.

Titles included in this guide are mostly from the Reference collection and may be used in the library only, but other books on the same topics are available for checkout.  If you need help finding anything, please ask a librarian for assistance.

 

English Versions

 

Kaplan, Rabbi Aryeh. The Living Torah: The Five Books of Moses and the Haftarot. 2nd edition.
   New York: Maznaim, 1981.

Comprehensive translation of the Torah written for those who do not understand the Hebrew text.

REF BS 1223 .K3

Meeks, Wayne A. ed. The Harpercollins Study Bible: New Revised Standard Version with the  Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical Books. London: HarperCollins, 1993.
An in-depth annotated Bible with notes and explanations from leading biblical authorities.

 

BS 191.5 .A1 1993 C35
The New Jerusalem Bible
   New York: Doubleday, 1985.

The official English-language text used in Catholic liturgies throughout the world.

 

REF BS 195 .J4 1985
Coogan, Michael D. ed. The New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical Books
   New York: Oxford UP, 2001.     

Features detailed explanations of the five major divisions of the biblical text.  Includes a full index to all of the study materials.

 

BS 191.5 .A1 2001

 

 

Atlases

 

Historical and geographical information about the land, sites and archaeology of the Biblical world.

 

Metzger, Bruce M. and Michael D. Coogan, eds. The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible.
   New York: Oxford UP, 2001.
REF BS 570 .O94 2001

Rasmussen, Carl G.  Zondervan NIV Atlas of the Bible.
   Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1989.

Provides quick reference of biblical places and events.

REF BS 630 .R37

 

Bible Commentaries

 

Consist of explanatory or critical notes on the people, places, terms, and events of the Bible.

 

Brown, Raymond E., Joseph A. Fitzmyer, and Roland E. Murphy, eds. The Jerome Biblical Commentary.
   Englewood Cliffs: Prentice-Hall, 1968.

Compact commentary on the entire Bible for readers interested in religion and theology on all levels.

REF BS 491.2 .B7

Fuller, Rev. Reginald C. A New Catholic Commentary on Holy Scripture.
   London: Nelson, 1969.

A classic commentary on the Bible intended to be a companion to reading the Bible.

REF BS 491.2 .N48

Barton, John and John Muddiman, eds. The Oxford Bible Commentary.
   New York: Oxford UP, 2001.

Offers verse-by-verse explanation of every book of the Bible; also brings in new perspectives and insights to bring out the expanding meanings of these ancient writings.

REF BS 491.3 .O94

 

Concordances and Dictionaries

 

An alphabetical index of passages and/or words in the Bible with indications of the context.

 

Freedman, David Noel, ed. Eerdman’s Dictionary of the Bible.
   Grand Rapids: Eerdmans. 2000.

With nearly 5,000 alphabetically arranged articles, the dictionary explains all the books, persons, places, events and significant terms found in the Scriptures.

REF BS 440 .E44 2000

Strong, James. The New Strong’s Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible.
   Nashville: Thomas Nelson, 2001.

A comprehensive index to every word appearing in the King James version.

REF BS 425 .S845 2001

 

Finding Magazine & Journal Articles  (Databases)

 

The Library pays for access to several databases where you can find magazine and journal articles online. Some articles are available full-text. Other times you might only find a summary of the article with information about where and when it was published. In this case, we may have access through another database or a print copy of the article. If not, we can usually get a copy from another library. The databases are available from the Library’s web page at http://www.marymountpv.edu/find-articles. 

 

Academic Search Premier

A comprehensive database with more than 300 full-text journals covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, and varied aspects of philosophy.

http://ezproxy.marymountpv.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph

ProQuest Direct

Covers many important journals on religious issues and perspectives, most available in full-text.

http://ezproxy.marymountpv.edu/login?url=http://umi.com/pqdauto

 

Websites

 

When you are doing independent research on the Internet it is especially important to evaluate the source. The sites listed here are authoritative. For more information on how to do research online, see the Library Guides “Internet Search Engines” and “Evaluating Information on the Internet.”

 

The Unbound Bible

A collection of searchable Bibles with eleven English versions as well as versions in 57 other languages. Links to other Bible study tools such as dictionaries and encyclopedias.

http://unbound.biola.edu

Biblegateway.com

A tool for reading and researching Scripture online. It provides advanced searching capabilities, which allow readers to find and compare particular passages in Scripture based on keywords, phrases, or Scripture reference. Also runs a Facebook group.

http://www.biblegateway.com

iTanakh: Resources for Academic Study

An index of internet resources useful for academic study of the Hebrew Bible.

http://www.itanakh.org/

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.